School Logo


Over the next term and a half, we will be rewriting our curriculum units to ensure that we deliver a broad and exciting curriculum that will benefit all of our pupils, and reflect our new vision too! Until then, please follow the links to see our current curriculum offer.

What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here.

Our School Curriculum


Our school curriculum is wide-ranging and encapsulates our ethos and core values, key skills, important entitlements for our pupils, together with a range of teaching approaches and curriculum content. This is set out in a single sheet entitled ‘A Big Picture of the Curriculum at Scarcroft School’ (see PDF below). This shows how the various threads knit together to form a cohesive overall approach and sets out explicitly some of our passions and beliefs.


The Revised National Curriculum 2014


As from 1st September 2014, a statutory new curriculum drawn up by the government has been launched across every Primary School in England. This applies to all our pupils from Year 1 – Year 6. (Pupils in Reception continue to follow the statutory guidance for the Early Years Foundation Stage.)

Teachers at Scarcroft School have spent a significant amount of training time during 2013-14 preparing for the new curriculum content. Planning has been updated and reworked in order to include new aspects in a number of subjects.


How children are taught in Years 1-6

On a daily basis:


  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Grammar
  • Phonics / Spelling
  • English is taught to every child in an hour-long lesson each day.
  • Phonics is taught in KS1 for 20 minutes per day.
  • Spelling is taught in KS2 2-3 times per week.


  • Addition
  • Subtraction
  • Multiplication
  • Division
  • Problem Solving
  • Shape, space and measure
  • Maths is taught to every child in an hour-long lesson each day.
  • Mix & Match Maths lessons are taught every 3 weeks, where different mathematical concepts are mixed together in ways where pupils are required to apply their knowledge in a different context.


Across the term:


In Years 1 - 4

In Years 5 & 6



These subjects will continue to be taught through a topic-based approach, building in links where appropriate with English & Maths.


Due to the volume of subject knowledge required in Years 5 & 6, these subjects will be taught each week in a discrete lesson devoted to each specific subject. Mini-topics and themes will be taught within subjects.




Art & Design


DT (Design Technology)



Reading is the cornerstone of everything we do throughout the school. Learning to read begins with a systematic approach to the teaching of phonics, which continues through Reception, Year 1 and Year 2. Pupils have a daily 20-minute phonics session, which we teach using the ‘Letters & Sounds’ scheme. We hold an annual introductory evening for Reception parents, together with a range of phonics workshops, to illustrate first-hand how children are taught to read and write in the early years of school. Reading practice takes many forms: individual reading to an adult using either the Phonics Bugs or the Oxford Reading Tree schemes; silent reading followed by a comprehension activity; paired reading with another child; Guided Reading in small groups with a teacher or teaching assistant; whole class reading of texts aloud; and listening to class stories read by the teacher.  Children read texts (fiction and non-fiction) from books and screens.  Each classroom has a reading corner and pupils also have access to the school library to choose books for reading at home.  Reading is set as regular homework, and Reading Records are used to enable parents and teachers to record progress made, thus facilitating the transfer of information between home and school.   There is an extensive Storysacks Library for school and home use during the Early Years.  Book Buddies (parents, students and volunteers from other professions) support the school by giving children extra practice at becoming proficient readers.  World Book Day and National Poetry Day are also celebrated using a range of enrichment activities that aspire to promote a lifelong love of reading.


All pupils are also required to study RE (Religious Education) but this follows a locally agreed syllabus, rather than a national programme of study. We follow the RE programme agreed for York schools, but instead of selecting Christianity and two other religions to teach, as required (one in the infants and one in the juniors) we teach about all six major world religions across the seven years from Reception to Year 6. We believe that this helps pupils to develop understanding and tolerance of beliefs different to their own.


All pupils in Years 1-6 also receive two PE (Physical Education) lessons per week as their Sports provision. In KS2, this includes swimming lessons in Years 3 & 4 (two 12-week blocks – one in Y3 and one in Y4).


All junior pupils are also required to study a modern foreign language - we are continuing to teach French through a weekly 30-minute lesson, led by a French specialist.


Schools are no longer required to teach PSHCE lessons (Personal, Social, Health & Citizenship) but there is a legal requirement for schools to ‘make provision’ for the promotion of Social, Moral, Spiritual and Cultural education. For this reason, we have decided to retain our existing programme of PSHCE lessons across all age groups, as we feel that these key messages about understanding the world and how we function within it are crucial and ensure that our pupils operate effectively in society when they leave us.


How children are taught in EYFS (Reception)

Teachers follow the government’s EYFS Framework when planning how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development (three prime areas and four specific areas).

The aim is for children to develop the three prime areas, first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children progress, work will be planned to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The teachers will make sure that the activities planned are suited to your child’s individual needs. This is a little bit like the curriculum set out further up the school, but it is suitable for very young children, and it is designed to be flexible so that staff can follow your child's needs and interests. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking, which takes place both indoors and outside (we have an outdoor area at one end of the school building, together with a nearby allotment where Forest Schools activities take place on a weekly basis).


What if I still have questions?

If you have any questions about what your child is learning that are not answered above, or through the half-termly Parent Update sheets that we send out, please do not hesitate to have a chat with your child’s teacher.